top of page

POUL 4970 Post 1


I took this class in hopes of learning new things about the Poultry Industry. From my internship, I learned quickly that the information you learn in school will not cover everything you will encounter in the industry. I hope to gain further knowledge about the poultry industry and what might be expected of you. Once graduated I will work for Wayne Farms as a management trainee. In this role, I will be exposed to all parts of the Wayne Farms operation. Hopefully this class will expose me more to information, terminology, and the problems I will possibly face in the future.

My career goal has recently taken a 180 degree turn. Up until this August, I was on the track to apply to Veterinary School. From an early age, I had decided I wanted to become a veterinarian, and I was determined about my decision until one day during my internship. I had just returned from my lunch break, and I was talking with my supervisor about how she started in the Poultry Industry. As she was telling her story, I was in awe of how awesome the people she worked with were. Then, working there this summer, I saw a lot of the different people that worked there. They were so genuine, kind, and willing to help me if I ever needed anything. Along with their kindness, I realized my interest for the process. Every day I was finding myself more and more interested in how the process works and how each part was connected.

My career change was not easy; I was giving up a dream that I have had for my whole life. Personally, I am a big planner. I like to have everything planned and if anything goes wrong I have backup plans. That’s the thought at least; we all know that no matter how many ideas or plans we have, God is going to make sure we follow his plan not our own. I am a firm Christian believer in knowing God has our lives already planned before we were even born. After a lot of praying and opening my eyes to what God had put in front of me I decided to follow signs he was showing me. As soon as I realized what he was asking me to do there was a weight lifted off my shoulders.

With my newly career change I wanted to take classes that would expose me more to the industry I will soon work in. POUL 4970 Advanced Exercises in Poultry Production will hopefully do that. I look forward to what I will learn this semester.


bottom of page