top of page

POUL 3100 Second Writing Assignment

As I look back on my first reflection post for Feed Manufacturing class I can realize that I learned what I had a hoped and so much more. In my first post I wrote, “I hope to gain a better insight of feed milling and why the industry might do things a certain way.” From each section, we learned about in the feed manufacturing industry it opened my eyes to a new possible career choice. After graduation, which is in 6 days, I will be going to work for Wayne Farms as a management trainee. This is an 18-month program that will allow me to learn each part of Wayne Farms better. Having little experience in the feed manufacturing business this class has taught me the basics. Learning and understanding something new takes time and you must build upon the knowledge you already have. This class was a great building block that will lead up to me learning more about the feed manufacturing industry, especially with the job I will start soon. In this class I learned what machinery is needed to produce feed. Along with the type of machinery, I learned what conditions are needed to run the machines and how good management is key to running a good feed mill. This class also taught me the importance of getting calculations right when trying to figure out how much the feed mill can run at a time.

Although feed manufacturing is not my favorite subject to learn about I do understand the importance and how it can impact the food industry as a whole.

I am hopeful as to what else I will learn once I start my program at Wayne Farms. I am grateful that this class was just the beginning of my learning process of the feed manufacturing process.


bottom of page